News & Events

2011 Queensland Poppies stand Tall at Premier’s Reception


Queensland’s latest crop of Young Tall Poppies were recognised at the Queensland Premier’s Science and Innovation Reception at Parliament House in Brisbane on the 30th of November. The awards were presented by the Premier Anna Bligh and the Queensland Chief Scientist Dr Geoff Garrett AO.

Eight outstanding young researchers from across Queensland were recognised for their work in diverse areas, from coral reef ecology to quantum computing. They are also outstanding communicators of their work to their peers, school students and the wider community.

Dr Tamara Davis from the University of Queensland was announced as the 2011 Queensland Young Tall Poppy of the Year. She received a prize of $10,000.

View our Media Release here
View details of our 2011 winners here

QLD Tall Poppies 2011