Young Tall Poppy Science Award Ceremonies

We aim to reach as broad an audience as possible in announcing our awards, to ensure recipients gain peer recognition as well as public exposure, impact and stakeholder inclusion – that means government, academia, industry, media, diverse publics and individuals. This is in line with Tall Poppy Campaign objectives and Inspiring Australia principles.

Details on dates and events for each state and territory in 2017 are below. This page will be updated with  dates and locations as they become available.

ACT: Was held on October 24 at the Shine Dome, in partnership with our sponsor, The Australian National University. Photos from the night can be found here.

NSW: Was held on the 17th of August 2017 in partnership with the Powerhouse Museum and sponsors – the University of Newcastle, the University of NSW, Macquarie University, the University of Western Sydney, University of Technology Sydney and the University of Sydney. Photos from the 2016 night can be found here

QLD: Evening reception was held on the 11th of August in conjunction with the Chief Scientist of Queensland and sponsors the Queensland University of Technology, Griffith University, The University of Queensland and the University of Southern Queensland. Photos of the 2017 event can be found here.

NT: 12 October 2017 in conjunction with a meeting of October Business Month at the Darwin Innovation Hub. Photos can be found

SA: Was held on the 25th July 2017 at an afternoon event held at Government House in Adelaide. You can see photos of the 2017 event here

TAS:  Was held on the 9th of November 2017 in partnership with the University of Tasmania (Hobart) at the Vice Chancellor’s Dinner. Photos of the 2016 event can be found here.

VICWas held on the 16th of November 2017 over an evening cocktail reception at the Swinburne University (Melbourne) with sponsors Monash University and Swinburne University
Check out the 2017 photos here

WA: Was held on the 2nd of November 2017, at a reception co-hosted by the WA Museum at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre in conjunction with sponsors Edith Cowan University, Curtin University and the University of WA. Photos of the 2017 event can be found here.