2011 SA Tall Poppy Award Ceremony

Winners of the 2011 Tall Poppy Awards were announced at a formal Reception at Government House, Adelaide, on Thursday 25th August 2011.

The Tall Poppy Awards Reception on Thursday 25th August 2011 was attended by more than 80 leading representatives of the science, technology, engineering and mathematics sectors from universities, business, government and industry groups.

His Excellency Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce AC CSC RANR presented the awards with Professor Ross McKinnon, Director of Research at the Flinders Centre for Innovation in Cancer and South Australian Director of the Tall Poppy Campaign.

Science and Information Economy Minister Jay Weatherill said: “The Tall Poppy Award winners demonstrate the breadth of talent we have in South Australia among our science community and aims to inspire students to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).”

“I applaud these young recipients for their hard work and dedication,” Minister Weatherill said.
Presentation of the Tall Poppy of the Year Award will take place as part of the South Australian Science Excellence Awards gala dinner on Thursday, 3 November, 2011.

The winners of the 2011 Tall Poppy Awards are:

Dr Stuart Brierley – Neuroscience and Gastroenterology
Research Fellow, Nerve-Gut Research Laboratory, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Dr Laura Brooks – Acoustics Research
Lecturer, School of Mechanical Engineering, University of Adelaide

Dr Philip Gregory – Breast Cancer Research
Research Fellow, National Breast Cancer Foundation, SA Pathology.

Dr Claire Jessup – Diabetes and Transplant Research
Research Fellow, Renal Department, Royal Adelaide Hospital.

Dr Craig Priest – Microfluidics and Interfacial Chemistry
Research Fellow, Ian Wark Research Institute, University of South Australia.                                     

Dr Priest was presented with the 2011 SA Tall Poppy of the Year Award at the SA Science Excellence Awards Gala Event on Thursday 3rd November.

Dr Tara Pukala – Protein Chemistry
Lecturer, School of Chemistry and Physics, University of Adelaide

Dr Erin Symonds – Gastroenterology and Nutrition
Senior Research Officer, Nerve-Gut Research Laboratory, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Dr Mark Tingay – Geoscience and Petroleum Engineering
Senior lecturer at the Australian School of Petroleum, University of Adelaide