News & Events

The West’s first Tall Poppies awarded


At the inaugural Western Australian Young Tall Poppy Science Awards on 10 November 2010, four outstanding early career researchers who are also passionate about communicating their enthusiasm and work to the public were recognised in Perth.

From investigating ancient lava flows that can help identify nickel deposits through to the design of nanocarriers with medical applications, and from the identification of specific genetic defects to deep research into allergies and possible preventative strategies, our four winners represent the innovative drive of research in Western Australia.

Science broadcaster Robyn Williams presided as MC.  Special guests and speakers were Professor Lance Twomey AO, Chair of the WA selection committee; Professor Alan Robson AM, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Australia; Professor Lyn Beazley AO, Chief Scientist of Western Australia; and Professor Jo Ward, Dean of Science, Curtin University of Technology.

The WA Young Tall Poppy of the Year 2010 receiving a prize of $5,000 supported by CSIRO, the Curtin University of Technology and the Universty of Western Australia:

Dr Kristen Nowak
Research Fellow, WA Institute for Medical Research / The University of Western Australia

Kristen Nowak joined another three highly deserving WA Young Tall Poppy winners for 2010:

Dr Marco Fiorentini
Assistant Professor, Centre for Exploration Targeting, The University of Western Australia

Dr K Swaminathan Iyer
ARC Research Fellow, Deputy Director, Centre for Strategic Nano-Fabrications, The University of Western Australia

Associate Professor Meri Tulic
NHMRC CDA Fellow, The University of Western Australia