News & Events

NSW celebrates its 2011 Young Tall Poppy Scientists


Power plant avoids carbon tax and trains run smoothly, or Einstein’s theory of general relativity is confirmed. These could be headlines created by the research of some of the brightest leading young scientists in NSW recognised in 2011 for their research and communication excellence.

Eleven young NSW scientists were honoured at the prestigious 2011 Young Tall Poppy Science Awards for NSW on 3 November at The Powerhouse Museum in the presence of the NSW Chief Scientist and Scientific Engineer, Professor Mary O’Kane, keynote speaker Professor Bryan Gaensler (Director of CAASTRO and 2008 Young Tall Poppy) alongside university, government, industry, education, communication and community sector participants.

Astrophyscist Dr George Hobbs from CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science received the UNSW Medal and prize for the Young Tall Poppy Scientist of the Year from amongst the winners presented by the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) at UNSW, Professor Margaret Harding.

Read about the winners here:

The awards were co-presented by Professor Stephen Thurgate, Chair of the 2011 NSW selection committee and Executive Dean of the Faculty of Science at Macquarie University alongside Professor Jill Trewhalla, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) of the University of Sydney.